The modifications made into your app don't all require the same update process.  

- Some modifications require to update the settings to be visible in the app

- Some modifications require to generate (build) the app to be visible

- Some content updates are managed automatically

1. Modifications requiring an update of the Settings

The process of updating the settings is described in this online help.  

Once the native or web app has been generated at least once, most of the modifications only require an update of the settings to be visible into the app, both native and web.  

For example:  

  • Adding, deleting, moving, editing the settings or the design of a section 

- Editing the settings or design of the homepage or the browsing mode
- Editing any setting in the Audience menu
- Activating or editing certain add-ons (User features, Local businesses, Monetization, Live Services...)
- Editing the API settings (technically advanced users only)

This list is not exhaustive, but basically, all the modifications that appear in green in the Publish > Update > Changelog > Settings menu can be applied to the app directly from that menu.

Before you click on the green Update button at the bottom of the page, these changes can only be seen in the backend preview and in My Apollo Apps app.  
After you click on Update, they will be immediately visible in the current version of your Web App and your Native apps.
The app, both Web and Native, only needs to be closed and reopened for the modifications to take effect.  

IMPORTANT : If one of the native apps has just been generated and is in "Ready" status, or if it is pending validation on one of the stores, the Publish > Update > Changelog > Settings menu will be temporarily locked.
It is forbidden to update settings while the app is being reviewed by the stores.
You must wait until the backend marks the native version as published to access this menu again. 

2. Modifications requiring a new generation of the app

For the Native App, the cases when you need to generate the app to see some modifications are more frequent than for the Web App.  

Here are some examples of these modifications:  

  • Changing the Splashscreen or Icon 

- Any change made in the menu Settings > App Options
- Adding or deleting the Authentication add-on
- Adding or deleting the Geofence or iBeacons add-on
- Registering a new Beacon or modifying UUID of the existing Beacon
...

This also concerns the modifications listed under the Engine Update (this list will only appear if the Apollo Apps team made technical modifications) such as bug fixes or new feature releases.

All changes listed under the Publish > Update > Changelog Web App or Publish > Update > Changelog Native App require a generation to be visible into the app. 

3. What does a regeneration imply?

BEWARE: Generating your app will automatically update all the changes of the Settings menu (the changes in green).

For the Web App, you just have to close and reopen the app to see the newest modifications requiring a regeneration.

For the Native App, the new build has to be installed on the device to replace the previous version. The new version must be published on the stores so the app users can install it too.  

To do so, once you have rebuilt your app, simply validate it by clicking on the button "Submit to the store" and send the newest .ipa file (to Apple, see the online help : How to submit my iOS app to Apple's App Store) or .apk file ( to Google, see the online help : How to submit my Android app to the Google Play Store )

4. Automatic content updates

Some content updates are managed automatically by the system, meaning they will be automatically applied to your existing Web App or Native App without updating the Settings or generating the app.

  • Synchronisation of content coming from an external source:  

Let's take the example of a Wordpress website connected to the app using the Wordpress plugin.
After creating and setting your section (this requires an update of the Settings) the content created in your Wordpress website will be automatically synchronised into your app. Every new article published on your website will appear in the app without you doing anything.
The behavior is the same for all the content connectors using an external source (Youtube, Facebook Photos, Podcast...).  

- Adding new contents in the mCMS sections:  
Once the mCMS section is created and all set (this requires an update of the Settings), every new content published in your mCMS section (Article, Photo, Video, Sound, Map, Event) will be visible into the app without any other action than publishing it into the section. 

Did this answer your question?