1. New Chat section

A new Chat section is now visible in the list of sections of your application (App menu > Sections).
From there you can edit the design of the list and detail templates of this section.It is possible to choose from 3 different templates, both for the list and detail views of the Chat section.
The list and detail templates are independent from each other, you can combine them the way you want. For instance, you can choose template 1 for the list view, and template 3 for the detail view.

2. Chat detail templates

Detail Template 1 displays square photos and square message boxes.

Detail Template 2 displays rounded photos and square message boxes.

Detail Template 3 displays no photos and square message boxes.

3. Chat list templates

List Template 1 displays:
- all the received messages (less recent to most recent one),
- the name and picture of the contact (or the default picture, if the user doesn't have an avatar),
- the date of the last message,
- the write button.List Template 2 displays:
- all the received messages (less recent to most recent one),
- the name and picture of the contact (or the default picture, if the user doesn't have an avatar),
- the date of the last message,
- a bullet indicating there is a new unread message at the left of the picture
- the write button.

List Template 3 displays:
- all the received messages (less recent to most recent one),
- the name of the contact (no picture),
- the date of the last message,
- a bullet indicating there is a new unread message at the left of the picture
- the write button.

4. Separate the Chat section from the navigation mode

From the list template menu, you have the possibility to separate the Chat section from the navigation mode.

By default, the Chat section is included into the navigation mode, the button "Separate from navigation mode" is set to OFF. It means the Chat section is displayed in the menu like any other section of the app.

In this configuration, the app users can see their messages in their Profile section > My messages or directly into the Chat section. 

If you set the button "Separate from navigation mode" to ON, the chat section will no longer appear among your other sections.
In the backend, in the list of sections, the Chat section becomes be a subsection of the Profile section.

In this configuration, the app users can only see their messages into their Profile section > My messages.

5. Send a message to another user

To send a message to another user of the app, select his profile in the Users section of the app, and inside his profile, click on the "Send a message" button.

6. Activate / Deactivate the possibility to be contacted by other users

The profile of the app users is currently public, but they can choose not to be contacted by other users.
To do so, in their own Profile section > My messages, they can set the "Allow users to contact me" button to OFF.

When a user does so, the "Send a message" button disappears from their public profile.
Previously received messages are still visible in My Messages, and it is also possible to keep on sending messages into the existing conversations.

7. Block / Unblock users - Mark messages as read - Delete a conversation

When viewing the list of messages, swipe to the left to have several options appear :

- Block user
You won't receive any further message from the blocked user.
The blocked user doesn't know he has been blocked (he can keep on sending messages to you, but you won't receive them).
The conversation you had with the blocked user is stocked at the bottom of the list of conversations, and the conversation is greyed out.

- Unblock user
You can now receive messages again from the user who was previously blocked.
If the user sent you messages while he was blocked, you can now see these messages in the conversation.

- Mark as read (only with the List Templates 2 & 3)
When you mark the conversation as read, the bullet indicating you have a new message will disappear.

- Delete message
This action deletes the whole conversation you have with this contact.
Attention, if you blocked a user and delete the conversation, you can no longer unblock this user!

Did this answer your question?